Joliet West Speech Team wins fourth consecutive conference championship


Last updated 2/3/2020 at 1:42pm

The Joliet West Speech Team won its fourth consecutive conference championship title on Saturday, January 25, 2020 at the SPC Conference tournament hosted at Joliet Central High School. The tournament champions were excited to represent Joliet West High School with another win in the Southwest Prairie Conference. The team advanced 27 out of 28 entries to the final round of competition. Impressively, Joliet West Speech also had eight individual event champions, and seven runners up.

The following Joliet West High School students were individual event champions at the SPC Conference: Alexis Wajda, Original Oratory; Anna Polacek, Impromptu Speaking; Kiera Posteluk & Diamond Reaves, Dramatic Duet Acting; Hannah Nordquist, Extemporaneous Speaking; Anna Polacek, Special Occasion Speaking; Diamond Reaves, Prose Reading; Kennedy Dorris, Poetry Reading; and Tiffany Trizna, Radio Speaking.

The following Joliet West High School students were individual event runner ups at the SPC Conference: Aniya Davis, Original Comedy; Julianna Byrne, Special Occasion Speaking; Kailey Staniszewski, Impromptu Speaking; Katie Munson, Original Oratory; Kiera Posteluk, Dramatic Interpretation; Lilia Villaflor, Prose Reading; and Molly White, Informative Speaking.

Head Coach Kristin Blake said, "This team is remarkable - not only because of their talent, but because of their heart".

The 2019-2020 Joliet West Speech Team has had a successful season thus far, with 3 team tournament championships, one 2nd place win, and three 3rd place team trophies thus far this season.

The Joliet West Speech Team is coached by Kristin Blake, with assistant coach, AJ Galli. Joliet West Speech includes the following members: Erika Balbuena (DDA), Tabitha Barowsky (OO), Julianna Byrne (DEC/SOS), Benji Cappel (HDA), Aniya Davis (DI/OC), Maya Dittert (PR), Kennedy Dorris (PO), Hank Eichstaedt (ES/SOS), Gabriel Finks (HDA), Hannah Finks (RS), Amaris Gamez (HDA), Crismali Garcia (DDA), Jarrin Griggs (DEC), Teresa Hudgens (ES/INF), Megan Krok (INF), Savion Long (HDA), Xavier Long (HDA), Zinnia Manning (HI), Hadia Masood (HDA/HI), Katie Munson (OO/PO), Jemma Newby (DEC), Hannah Nordquist (ES), Anna Polacek (IMP/SOS), Kiera Posteluk (DDA/DI), Marlie Potocki (ES), Diamond Reaves (DDA/PR), Gabriela Reyes (DDA), Gianna Ronchetti (PO), Mason Schlegel (OC), Araceli Sotelo (PR), Sara Spreitzer (RS), Kailey Staniszewski (IMP), Julia Slowakiewicz (HI), Angelina Tijan (DI), Tiffany Trizna (RS), Sela Viamonte (IMP), Lilia Villaflor (PR), Alexis Wajda (OO), Maddison Wascom (DDA), Molly White (INF) and Isabelle Zingsheim (OC).

JTHS congratulates the Joliet West Speech Team for their success and wishes them the best at the IHSA Regional, hosted by Marian Catholic High School on Saturday, February 8.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024