Foster named Chairman of House Science Committee's Investigations and Oversight Subcommittee


Last updated 1/15/2020 at 1:32pm

Congressman Bill Foster (D-IL) was named chairman of the Science, Space, and Technology Committee’s Subcommittee on Investigations and Oversight. The subcommittee is empowered with investigative and oversight authority over all matters concerning non-defense federal research.

“As a scientist who spent 24 years working at one of America’s great national laboratories, I know firsthand just how critical federal research is to our nation’s ability to confront challenges and for supporting the innovation that maintains the competitiveness of our economy,” Foster said. “American science is being threatened from many directions, and government should be a productive and valuable partner in maintaining its integrity. I am proud to lead the subcommittee responsible for defending that scientific integrity, and I look forward to working with Chairwoman Johnson to continue supporting the scientists and researchers at our federal agencies.”

“I would like to welcome all of the Science, Space, and Technology Committee Members to the second session of the 116th Congress,” said Chairwoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX). “We made great progress in 2019, and I look forward to another productive year working with our new and returning Subcommittee Chairs and Members as we continue to pursue a constructive and bipartisan legislative agenda to advance our nation’s research, development, and innovation enterprise and find solutions to the many challenges facing our nation today.”

The House Science, Space, and Technology Committee has jurisdiction over non-defense federal research and development, including the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), National Science Foundation (NSF), and National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). It also has jurisdiction over research and development at the Department of Energy (DOE), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Department of Transportation (DOT), Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), National Weather Service (NWS), and the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 04/09/2024 16:50